Thursday, February 20, 2014

FEARNET'S March Lineup Features Hollywood All-Stars

Courtesy FEARNET
March Madness is just around the corner and no, we're not talking about basketball. FEARNET recently released their March lineup of films that features not one but two big Hollywood stars, including Jeremy Renner ("The Avengers") in "Dahmer" and 2014 Oscar nominee Michael Fassbender ("12 Years A Slave") in "Eden Lake." FEARNET will also be presenting premieres of Neil Marshall’s "Dog Soldiers;" Country Icon Trace Adkins in "Trailer Park of Terror;" Dana Delany in "Camp Hell;" and Nick Cannon in "Day of the Dead."

But wait! There's more! The announcement reveals that FEARNET will put a delightfully horrifying spin on March Madness by unleashing a "sinister sixteen 'Monster Madness' interactive Facebook bracket to coincide with the NCAA’s Sweet 16." Refereed by the Crypt Keeper, the competition features a roster of classic genre icons and modern favorites against each other. Fans will vote to decide who will make the final cut. First-round matches feature Pumpkinhead vs. Pyramid Head ("Silent Hill"); Chucky vs. Leprechaun; Gremlins vs. Critters; Reagan ("The Exorcist") vs. Mia ("Evil Dead"); Alcide ("True Blood") vs. David ("An American Werewolf in London"); Bela Lugosi’s Dracula vs. Max Schreck’s Nosferatu; Freddy Krueger vs. Michael Myers; and Jason Voorhees vs. Ghost Face ("Scream").

Here are the complete March highlights:

· “Expedition FEAR” – Every Friday (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
A new month of “Expedition FEAR” kicks off on March 7 with a French double feature, as two detectives (Jean Reno, Vincent Cassel) team up to solve a string of grisly mountain murders in "The Crimson Rivers" (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). And Jean Reno returns in "Crimson Rivers 2: Angels of the Apocalypse" (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT), hunting a murderous cult that crucifies its victims. On March 14, Mia Farrow stars as a blind woman who comes home to a crime scene… and the madman is still in the house, in the classic UK thriller "See No Evil" (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). Hong Kong horror show "The Child's Eye" (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) follows, with the Pang Brothers’ ("The Eye") supernatural chiller about six friends stranded at an old hotel, whose underground passages are home to ghosts and monsters.

On March 21, it’s two more French frights, as gangsters and cops trapped in a high-rise join together against an army of the undead in "The Horde" (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). And mysterious intruders torment a couple at an isolated estate in "Them" (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT). Then, on March 28, Oscar nominee Michael Fassbender stars as a man whose weekend getaway becomes a nightmare when he and his girlfriend are brutalized by vengeful teens in the UK’s "Eden Lake" (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT). Australian festival darling "The Loved Ones" (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) follows, as a teen (Xavier Samuel, "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse") experiences the prom night from hell when he rejects the wrong girl.

· ‘Dog Soldiers’ (Network Premiere) – Sunday, March 9 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
Acclaimed filmmaker Neil Marshall ("The Descent") makes his big screen debut with this cult classic about a squadron in the Scottish Highlands, whose routine training mission becomes a fight for survival when a vicious pack of werewolves appear.

· “Notorious” Triple Feature – Thursday, March 13 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Spend an evening with three “Notorious” cinematic maniacs in this terrifying triple feature. Before "The Silence of the Lambs," there was "Manhunter" (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)—Brian Cox (HER) steps into the iconic shoes of Hannibal Lecktor, a brilliant killer helping profiler Will Graham (William Petersen, CSI) capture a human monster dubbed the Tooth Fairy (Tom Noonan, "The House of the Devil"). Then, Jeremy Renner ("American Hustle") transforms into "Dahmer" (10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT), in this biopic examining the murderer’s days before, during, and after his infamous killing spree. "Killer Movie" (12:30 a.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT) brings the blood bath to an end, as a small town reality show becomes a murder mystery when members of the cast and crew are targeted by a masked psycho, leaving the show’s director (Paul Wesley, "The Vampire Diaries") and star (Kaley Cuoco, "The Big Bang Theory") to unravel the secret.

· "Trailer Park of Terror" (Network Premiere) – Sunday, March 23 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Caught in a storm, troubled youths and their pastor ("Teen Wolf"’s Matthew Del Negro) seek shelter among the undead in this zombie romp based on the comic series of the same name. Country legend Trace Adkins ("The Celebrity Apprentice") cameos as a sinister figure known only as “The Man.”

· "Camp Hell" (Broadcast Premiere) – Sunday, March 23 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
Fear, guilt, and wrath run rampant, when a demon manifests itself at a twisted church retreat in this shocker starring Dana Delany ("Body of Proof"), Andrew McCarthy ("St Elmo's Fire"), and Bruce Davison ("The Lords of Salem").

· “Scarlet Fever” Marathon – Thursday, March 27 (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)
Get down with the sickness in the six-film “Scarlet Fever” Marathon. "Twilight" star Xavier Samuel pays the price for turning down the wrong girl in Australia’s prom night favorite "The Loved Ones" (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT). Then, a med student (Corri English, "Holliston") encounters a killer cadaver in "Unrest" (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT). Next, "America's Got Talent" host Nick Cannon stars in the network premiere of "Day of the Dead" (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT), as a zombie outbreak consumes a small Colorado town. Spain’s "We Are What We Are" (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT) follows, with a family of cannibals thrown into a downward spiral after the death of their patriarch. And the family that slays together, stays together in "The Hamiltons" (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT). "The Graves" (2 a.m. ET/11 p.m. PT) closes out the evening, as two sisters take a journey into madness in this mind-bender starring genre icons Tony Todd ("Candyman") and Bill Moseley ("The Devil's Rejects").

-Larissa Mrykalo

0 comments: