Werewolf mania continues with upcoming book and movie

If you're loopy for lupines, you'll be happy to hear werewolves are continuing their ascent as the next paranormal pop culture darlings.

First up, Mediabistro's GalleyCat book blog reports that Del Rey will publish Little Women and Werewolves by Porter Grand, a classic lit and paranormal mashup in the vein of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. The synopsis:
In this retelling of Louisa May Alcott's classic, the beloved little women must keep not just the wolf, but the werewolves, from the door...and the kindly old gentlemen next door and his grandson may have some secrets to hide - or share with the March girls.

If that's not enough to feed your feral appetites, Variety says that Unique Features has picked up the screen rights to Shiver, part one of the werewolf romance series by Maggie Stiefvater about "a teen who
becomes a wolf each winter and his girlfriend, who helps him find the
secret to staying human."

So even though Jacob will lose out to Edward in the Bella battle (uh, spoiler alert?), the lycanthropes might eat up the vampire market share soon enough.

0 comments: