'New Moon' soundtrack tracklist released

After weeks of speculation, Stephenie Meyer's Web site has released the official tracklist for the New Moon soundtrack. Along with the expected contributions from artists Death Cab For Cutie and Radiohead-frontman Thom Yorke, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, OK Go and The Killers among others will be getting into the vampire music business.  Each song will be new and exclusive to the soundtrack - although Muse's offering, "I Belong to You" is a remix, so it just barely counts.

The announcement comes just days after The New York Times reported on the boon the soundtrack could be to the music industry after the Twilight album moved an impressive 2.2 million copies.

The New Moon soundtrack will be released on Oct. 20 (and the movie follows on Nov. 20), but you can pre-order it now.

Here is the complete track listing:

1. Death Cab For Cutie – “Meet Me On The Equinox”
2. Band Of Skulls – “Friends”
3. Thom Yorke – “Hearing Damage”
4. Lykke Li – “Possibility”
5. The Killers – “A White Demon Love Song”
6. Anya Marina – “Satellite Heart”
7. Muse – “I Belong To You (New Moon)”
8. Bon Iver and St. Vincent – “Roslyn”
9. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – “Done All Wrong”
10. Hurricane Bells – “Monsters”
11. Sea Wolf – “The Violet Hour”
12. OK Go – “Shooting The Moon”
13. Grizzly Bear – “Slow Life”
14. Editors – “No Sound But The Wind”
15. Alexandre Desplat – “New Moon (The Meadow)”

- aaron sagers